Skip to main navigation.


In 1999 Columbia REA established an Academic Scholarship Program for members or dependents of members with an active account served by Columbia REA. Each year, three continuing education scholarships are awarded on a competitive basis to eligible applicants. The Clark A. Brewington Memorial Scholarship in the amount of $1,500 is awarded to the highest scoring applicant. The remaining two academic scholarships are in the amount of $1,000 each.

Once awarded, these scholarships are renewable for up to three additional consecutive years provided the recipient remains a student in good standing with at least a 2.75 grade point average at an accredited institute for higher learning.

The application period opens annually December 1st; during this time, applications packets are available at the Columbia REA office in Dayton and Walla Walla. Application packets are also sent directly to all area high schools within Columbia REA’s service area.

A committee made up of Columbia REA members who have been involved in the field of education reviews the scholarship applications. The scholarships are awarded to the recipients at the Annual Membership Meeting which is held each year between March 1 and April 30.

To apply for one of the available academic scholarships, click here.

In 2006, after a tragic boating accident took the life of CREA lineman Jeff Meredith, a fourth scholarship was established in his memory by the cooperative. The Jeff Meredith Scholarship is a an award of $2,500 annually to help enable the recipient to attend a recognized lineman's training program leading to a career as an electric utility lineman.

The eligibility requirements are similar to those mentioned for the academic award, but they differ slightly.

To apply for the Jeff Meredith Scholarship, click here.


Powered by Touchstone Energy Cooperatives Logo